Revolving Doors of Vengeance

RDoVThree estranged brothers band together to take back their dead father’s Royal Court hotel from the grips of the majority shareholder, a conniving Martin Ko. Meanwhile, the brothers’ uncle has plans of his own. Several chess games are being played at the same time for control… but who’s playing who?

Sounds cheesy? It is! But the storylines are so well done, and the actors are actually good, with fairly unpredictable twists and turns that I could look past the Velveeta and be completely enthralled by a hotel drama. This is probably the first time in seven years I haven’t rolled my eyes every other minute at a Hong Kong TV show. (The last good CJK show I saw was Dae Jang Geum.)

I’m not saying this was a groundbreaking piece of work… just the best thing in a long time from HK. There were some groanworthy, melodramatic, soapy moments (and the ending was so… typical and happy, yuck), but they didn’t pour it on too thick. I surprised myself by caring about the characters and becoming invested in the storyline, especially Lee Hoi Sum’s and Wong Kai Kit’s relationship. I hate it when I get invested — you could actually pinpoint the moment my heart breaks for them when something goes awry.

Fun moment: When Hoi Sum is listening to her favorite song for the nth time (which is a song I like, so I didn’t mind), I asked my mom, “Is that Hacken Lee?” “Yes.” “Oh snap!” Only, I didn’t say the last part out loud.

Listen, I hate about 95% of CJK TV serials I’ve seen, so when I say I like this, it is recorded as a historical epoch. Like, BRDoV (Before Revolving Doors of Vengeance) and ARDoV (After…). Oh, and I made up that percentage. People can come up with statistics to prove anything. Forfty percent of all people know that.

Leave a Reply

